โ“ Personal portfolio: What goals would I like to reach with it?๐Ÿ˜ฎ

โ“ Personal portfolio: What goals would I like to reach with it?๐Ÿ˜ฎ

ยท

3 min read

Let's start (and answer the question)! ๐Ÿ˜„. But first, I'd like to introduce myself, and give some context about my next comments:

Hi๐Ÿ‘‹

Post-Me.png

I like ...

  • ๐Ÿ’ป computer programming,
  • ๐Ÿ˜ƒ teamwork,
  • ๐Ÿ“™ learning new things every day,
  • ๐Ÿ—๏ธ build my personal projects, and
  • ๐Ÿคฉ find out new tools, services, or software (that help me to do my things in a productive and effective way).

When not coding, I enjoy...

hobbies.png

My answer

After the last session with Annie in Bootcamp III organized by Hashnode, I was thinking in a question: What goals would I like to reach with my portfolio โ“

To find the answer took time, there were many ideas in my mind from learning purposes, branding and monetization as points of view, get a job, have fun, create a project to show to others ideas, but I came to a conclusion, I want to create my portfolio for the next reasons:

Info-Portfolio.png

Put my work together (and have fun ๐Ÿ˜„)

As developers, we have much curiosity and be willing to learn a lot of things every day. On another hand, we like to explore, experiment with tools, languages programming, libraries, frameworks, and build projects.

For example, in my case: I have some repositories in Github, code snippets in Gist, small examples or UI components with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript in Codepen, others React & Vue web apps in Codesandbox, even I have some projects only in my computer, they aren't in some platform or service ๐Ÿ˜ข.

A lot of lines of code in many places. Bad news. It's nothing useful or something good ๐Ÿ˜ญ.

Because...

  1. It's difficult to look for some project, repository, or web app.
  2. You don't know what projects are your favorites or the best ๐Ÿ†.
  3. When some friend or someone asks for a project that you can share you can't define if you share your Github's repository, live demo, or some link to code in Codepen (you want to help but you can't because you're not organized ๐Ÿ˜ญ).

โญ I believe it would be considered as a red flag ๐Ÿšฉfor yourself, your friends, and future colleagues.

๐Ÿ‘‰ Therefore, for my future portfolio, I'd like to group all my work in the same place, and I'm going to have fun with this process: choose my favorite projects, publish them, organize my projects, move a project from one place to another, and put them together in my portfolio ๐Ÿ˜.

image.png

Branding personal

It's OK ๐Ÿ‘, you want to organize your projects. Also, you should share them with people, because they can know:

  • ๐Ÿ‘‰ Who you are?
  • ๐Ÿ‘‰ What are your projects?
  • ๐Ÿ‘‰ What skills do you have?
  • ๐Ÿ‘‰ What topics are you interested in?
  • ๐Ÿ‘‰ And other things about you (that you would like to share ๐Ÿ˜Š).

I think one good way to share your work with others is your personal portfolio, it usually has important sections such as about, work (or projects), skills, and contact.

โญ Also, you can get some kind of feedback about your projects and improve them (win-win ๐Ÿ˜„).

image.png

Get a job

Last but not least, get a job. If you create, choose, share your personal projects, you're building a branding personal, many people can know your work, or meet you.

โญ Consequently, there will be a lot of people who would like to work with you. And it could be much better if you mix your interests with them, and have fun ๐Ÿ˜„ because you can communicate your personality, goals, and curiosity ๐Ÿ‘€.

image.png

That's all my friends ๐Ÿ˜„!

I will happy to read your comments, positive feedback, or why not your links to your portfolios ๐Ÿคฉ๐Ÿคฉ, I would like to see them ๐Ÿ‘€๐Ÿ‘€.

Have fun ๐Ÿคช! Take care, please. See you soon! ๐Ÿ˜„

ย