My Personal Portfolio: Now & in the future

My Personal Portfolio: Now & in the future

In this article, I shared my process to build my personal portfolio.

ยท

4 min read

From some time ago, I'm working with my personal portfolio especially with the design, create some wireframes for some sections also I chose some tech stack. But, I researched a little more and attend live sessions in Bootcamp III, and I changed my mind some ideas. If you are interested in how I did my designs, how they, and other interesting, I suggest continuing with your reading ๐Ÿ˜„.

Content

Some web designs

For my personal profile, I designed two pages: Home and Projects. On the Home page, I put some sections like Hero, About me, Skills, Latest Projects, Contact.

Hero

In this section, my goal is that visitors can navigate across my website, see my projects, and download my resume therefore I considered putting a logo, header, my profile photo, and two buttons (Projects and Resume).

image.png

About me

Another purpose that I thought when I was designed my portfolio was that my visitors can know more about me what are my hobbies, where I located?, what was my expertise?, what industries did I work in? and so on. Then, I created this design:

image.png

Skills

As developers, we're learning, practicing, and researching a lot of things every day because we want to improve our abilities, skills, grow our knowledge, and of course, get a job opportunity. They were some reasons why I created this section: Skills.

image.png

Latest Projects

It's very common to hear that a good way to learn anything is practicing, and it isn't different in the technology or software industry. We're usually experimenting with things, try new tools or explore new libraries or frameworks, build personal projects (small, medium, or big projects), etc. I think it's important that every portfolio should show what projects we have built, what libraries or frameworks we used, and so on.

image.png

Contact

In this final section, I'd like to share my email and links to my social networks because I want to meet new friends, people, or companies that like my work or projects.

image.png

Current Tech Stack

After my initial designs, I chose my tech stack. They were HTML, CSS, JS, and for deployment, I thought to use Github Pages but the Bootcamp III organized by Hashnode, some courses I took, and some friends, I changed my mind, and you'll know about it in the next section ๐Ÿ˜….

image.png

New Features and Future Tech Stack

Well, after the session with Colby Fayock, Developer Advocate at Applitools, I was thinking of some changes, new features, and a new tech stack.

I would like to talk a little about some decisions or future changes with you ๐Ÿ˜„.

  1. Blog, articles, or writings. I want a place or section where I'll put references or links to my posts like Hashnode, collaborations to other developer blogs, or in the same portfolio.

  2. Newsletter. I need a way to maintain contact with my audience I'd like to configure (or learn) some newsletter, It'll be helpful because I can share with them great articles, tools, or resources

  3. Contact form. And finally, If it's possible a contact form, I don't know how I can do I need to research it more, but I saw many portfolios have one.

On another hand, the new tech stack.

  1. React. I identified that some content in the portfolio will be dynamic and repetitive then I considered that a good option is React because I can create components that will be reused in many parts easily, also the code will be more reusable.

  2. Sass. Another important decision, it's related to CSS, how we'll use components also we can organize our styles for components, also we can use Sass to generate some CSS dynamically.

  3. Firebase. I'm thinking that some information could be stored in a database, for example, projects, skills, and so on. Also, I need to integrate React with Firebase to get and show all information.

  4. Netlify. Finally, the deployment. The React's projects need to be processed or compiled before some deployed like Github Pages, I decided to change the deploy to Netlify, and configure the command build to deploy automatically after some change pushed to Github.

image.png

For now, It's all. Thanks for your time and reading!

I hope I'll write more about my process to build my personal portfolio. Have a nice day!

See you until the next article!๐Ÿ˜„

ย